Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
20.06.2021, 11:22
(This post was last modified: 20.06.2021, 12:07 by Bobby.)
Hi!
I have 2 pcs of https://openrb.com/dali-rs485-gateway/ .
The have worked ok for a long time, but suddenly GW-1 stopped working.
It shows up in the interface, but none of the lamps connected to it responds.
Tried restarting the whole system, tried updating to the last FW on my reactor v3, but still dead.
All of the lights connected to the GW-2 works fine. Any suggestions how to trace the fault?
Both of the GW has the same 24V Power supply, as well as 18V PS for the DALI.
Both of them measures 15V Out to the DALI line....
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
I have also measured the voltage to be 15V on the dali line in the lamps, so no broken cable.
In my opinion, it looks like the gw is the problem.
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
Looks like a hardware issue. Run this code once and post what you get in Logs tab:
Code: require('user.dali')
res, err = dalicmd(1, 'querystatus', { addrtype = 'short', address = 0 })
log(res, err)
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
(21.06.2021, 06:13)admin Wrote: Looks like a hardware issue. Run this code once and post what you get in Logs tab:
Code: require('user.dali')
res, err = dalicmd(1, 'querystatus', { addrtype = 'short', address = 0 })
log(res, err)
* arg: 1
* nil
* arg: 2
* string: connection refused
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
Go to Scripting > User libraries, delete the Dali user library and reboot. See if the script works afterwards.
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
(21.06.2021, 06:17)admin Wrote: Go to Scripting > User libraries, delete the Dali user library and reboot. See if the script works afterwards.
* arg: 1
* nil
* arg: 2
* string: timeout
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
This indicates that GW-1 is not responding. Try running the same script for GW-2, does it work?
Code: require('user.dali')
res, err = dalicmd(2, 'querystatus', { addrtype = 'short', address = 0 })
log(res, err)
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
* arg: 1
* nil
* arg: 2
* string: reply timeout
I am not sure if i run the script correctly, but i created a new event-based script, pasted the code, and run i manually.
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
"reply timeout" means that the gateway sent the request to the DALI bus but there was not reply. This indicates that at least the RS-485 communication part on the GW-2 is working correctly. Check the RS-485 wiring for GW-1 and also check if the on-board LED turns on when the on-board button is pressed.
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
(21.06.2021, 06:39)admin Wrote: "reply timeout" means that the gateway sent the request to the DALI bus but there was not reply. This indicates that at least the RS-485 communication part on the GW-2 is working correctly. Check the RS-485 wiring for GW-1 and also check if the on-board LED turns on when the on-board button is pressed.
Hi!
Checked the wiring yesterday, From lm -> GW1 -> GW2 ok.
Tested the led, ok. works on both.
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
Maybe i should get a replacement gw? do you got in stock? DM me please
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
Send us an e-mail please. The answer might take some time as office is closed this week due to public holidays.
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
Or can i use the internal gw on my reactor v3 for this?
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
You can but you need an external power supply for this. If the gateway power part is still working you can connect the DALI from the gateway to your Reactor.
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
21.06.2021, 12:18
(This post was last modified: 21.06.2021, 12:19 by Bobby.)
(21.06.2021, 12:14)admin Wrote: Send us an e-mail please. The answer might take some time as office is closed this week due to public holidays.
Message sent
(21.06.2021, 12:18)admin Wrote: You can but you need an external power supply for this. If the gateway power part is still working you can connect the DALI from the gateway to your Reactor.
Ok, i will try that.
Is there a way to backup the mapping of the lamps, or do i have to do all of the lamps again?
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
Run this once to move all ballasts mapped to GW-1 to the internal GW, reboot after running.
Code: db:query('UPDATE dali_devices SET gateway=255 WHERE gateway=1')
Posts: 88
Threads: 19
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
1
Nice! Thanks
Posts: 62
Threads: 14
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation:
0
Hello team
Can I use DALI 2 commands with the DALI-RS485-gateway?
best regards
Roger
Posts: 7758
Threads: 42
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation:
447
|